6 Responses to Backyard Medicine: Harvest and Make Your Own Herbal Remedies Reviews

  1. Kathleen Sanderson "Goatwalker"
    Kathleen Sanderson "Goatwalker" August 13, 2011 at 9:32 pm | | Reply
    7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Excellent resource!, September 17, 2009
    By 
    Kathleen Sanderson “Goatwalker” (Klamath Falls, OR USA) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    I found this book at the library, and liked it so much that I’ll be buying my own copy shortly. I have several books on medicinal herbs. This is the best one I’ve seen for telling you exactly how to prepare and use the herbal remedies in the book. She doesn’t cover everything, but it’s a very good beginning, and her directions on preparation and use will apply to other herbs that are mentioned in other books.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  2. Carol A. Chauvin
    Carol A. Chauvin August 13, 2011 at 10:05 pm | | Reply
    6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    backyard medicine, March 24, 2010
    By 
    Carol A. Chauvin (west chazy,n.y.) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

    i first heard of this book from an article written for my local newspaper. i love to garden and am interested in herbal remedies. i have quite a few herbs in the garden. the book is all and more than i expected. good information and images of the plants being discussed. i highly recommend this one.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  3. R. Rushing "rickfromthesticks"
    R. Rushing "rickfromthesticks" August 13, 2011 at 10:20 pm | | Reply
    5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Something Everyone Needs!, July 6, 2009
    By 
    R. Rushing “rickfromthesticks” (Missouri Ozarks) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    A great little book with most of the common plants locally available detailed. It has a description, uses listing and recipes for each plant. Also included are common contra-indications. A very handy resource to have around when the flu bug come buzzing by!

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  4. C. Van Deventer
    C. Van Deventer August 13, 2011 at 10:35 pm | | Reply
    7 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    The Male Herbal: The Definitive Health Care Book for Men & Boys by James Green, September 3, 2007
    By 
    C. Van Deventer (New Zealand) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    This review is from: The Male Herbal: The Definitive Health Care Book for Men and Boys (Paperback)

    This book was written with the intent to elevate the awareness of the conditions that afflict men and how herbs can alleviate these conditions. The book is a pleasant and informative read, that has scientific research to validate the use of the herbs (if you are scientifically inclined), while adhering to the holistic approach that is herbal medicine.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  5. Sereda A. Dailey "peaceismynature"
    Sereda A. Dailey "peaceismynature" August 13, 2011 at 11:23 pm | | Reply
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    wonderful and extremely helpful to men and their women and even younger boys, December 2, 2008
    By 
    Sereda A. Dailey “peaceismynature” (baltimore, md) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    This review is from: The Male Herbal: The Definitive Health Care Book for Men and Boys (Paperback)

    this book is helpful for any woman who is concerned with the males her family, this book gives clear detailed concice information on what, how will males keep their health together and it also gives information to the woman in one of the chapters. my fiance bought this book and i know we’ll both benefit from the clear information presented here…i was looking for the women’s version of this book by the same author please write one. thanks!

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  6. raphael a
    raphael a August 14, 2011 at 12:07 am | | Reply
    2 of 23 people found the following review helpful:
    1.0 out of 5 stars
    buyer beware, May 6, 2009
    By 
    raphael a (usa) –

    This review is from: The Male Herbal: The Definitive Health Care Book for Men and Boys (Paperback)

    The first two editions of this recommended a herb Pipisessawa for the disease prostatitis in tincture form. Many sites on this disease recommend against any herbal tea for treating that disease, as the volatile oils can worsen the condition.
    In this latest edition, the herb was mysteriously pulled from the book with no explanation.
    Herbalists do not have to conduct any research on their products to test for adverse effects.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Leave a Reply


*